Gustav Holst | Recordings of Holst's Music

The Essential Holst (2CD)

Performers include:
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Georg Solti, conductor
Sir Adrian Boult, conductor
The St Paul Chamber Orchestra
Christopher Hogwood, conductor
Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Elgar Howarth, conductor
The Purcell Singers
Osian Ellis, harp
Imogen Holst, conductor

Notes: CD 1 Tracks 8-11 recorded in 1961. Tracks 1-7 recorded in 1978. CD 2 Track 13 recorded in 1962. Tracks 6-10,12 recorded in 1965. Track 11 recorded in 1966. Track 5 recorded in 1976. Tracks 1-4 recorded in 1992. © 1995 Decca.

Label and Sku: Decca 444 549-2

Track Listing

  1. The Planets: Mars, the Bringer of War
  2. Venus, the Bringer of Peace
  3. Mercury, the Winged Messenger
  4. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
  5. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age
  6. Uranus, the Magician
  7. Neptune, the Mystic
  8. The Perfect Fool: Dance of Spirits of the Earth
  9. Dance of Spirits of Water
  10. Dance of Spirits of Fire
  11. Egdon Heath
  12. St Paul's Suite: Jig
  13. Ostinato
  14. Intermezzo
  15. Finale (The Dargason)
  16. A Moorside Suite
  17. Choral Hymns from the Rig Veda, Third Group: Hymn to the Dawn
  18. Hymn to the Waters
  19. Hymn to the Vena
  20. Hymn of the Travellers
  21. The Evening Watch
  22. Ave Maria
  23. This have I done for my true love